Meet the Pastor & Staff

Our Wonderful Pastor Brother Jimmy Arms

Our pastor is Brother Jimmy Arms. He originates from Murfreesboro, TN. He was born April 10, 1960 the son of Buck & Martha Arms. He was a member of Florence Baptist Church where he was born again in 1970. His first service as a minister was in 1980 at Crievewood Baptist Church as a youth minister while attending Belmont University. His first pastor job was at Holly Grove Baptist Church in Lascassas, TN. He also served as pastor at Hill Grove Baptist Church in Guston, KY and at Stevens Street Baptist Church in Cookeville, TN. Bro. Jimmy has served as a staff evangelist at Hixson First Baptist Church in Hixson, TN and served as a missionary in Malawi, Africa with the International Mission Board. Brother Jimmy has amassed over 30 years of ministry experience in serving his Lord and Savior.
He received his Bachelor of Arts degree from Belmont. His education includes a Master of Divinity from The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary in Louisville, KY and a Doctor of Ministry from Luther Rice Seminary in Lithonia, GA.
He married Diane Sanders Arms of Shelbyville on May 23, 1981. She has a Bachelor of Science in Dental Hygiene from UT and currently works as a homemaker. Diane is an important part of Bro. Jimmy’s ministry as they work as a team in serving wherever God calls. Together they have two children, Nathan & his wife Lauree, Shannon & her husband Abram. They currently have four sweet grandchildren.
Brother Jimmy served on several committees with the Stone Association of Southern Baptists. He has served with the Southern Baptist Convention, the North American Mission Board, the Lazarus House Hospice Foundation, Lighthouse Christian Camp, and as a seminary extension instructor for the Salem Baptist Association.
On a personal note, Bro. Jimmy likes spending time with family, outdoor activities, and music. Diane’s interests include tennis, golf, hiking, and cooking. They both will admit to being somewhat competitive and enjoy ping pong, bowling and bag toss.
You can visit one of our services on the “sermons” block on the Front Page or the Worship Page.




Our Deacons…

We love and appreciate our Deacons at Upper Helton. Joey Agee, Tex Campbell, David Turner, Willie Turner, Mike Evans & Phillip Self are always ministering to our congregation alongside our pastor. Together, as Pastor and Deacons they seek to help our church and community experience the abundant life that Jesus Christ has offered us. Pray for our pastor and deacons as they care for our church.

Deacons & their wives

David Turner (Roenia)

Mike Evans (Amy)

Tex Campbell (Vivian)

Joey Agee (Casey)

Phillip Self (Tisha)

Our Worship Leaders…

Song Leaders – David Turner (assistant)
Choir Director – Vickie Woods
Children’s Choir Director – Casey Agee, Stacy George, Liz Cripps
Piano – Roenia Turner, Debra McKay
Organ – Teresa Bogle, Lisa Gleaves
Musicians– David Revelle, Jerry Wilson
Audio/video Techs -Zack Vantrease, Taylor Leach, Jacob Self, Ethan Hale, Jessica Hale (powerpoint)
Website, Facebook & Videos– Amy Evans
Church Bulletins– David Revelle
Church & Fellowship Hall Usage– Brandi Womack
Church Signs– Roenia Turner
Head Usher– Phillip Self, Jimmy Woods

Other Leadership Positions…

Administrative Ministry – David Revelle
Recovery Ministry – Clint Johnson
Church Clerks – Tish Self, Stacy George
Treasurers (Payables/Receipts) – Sandra Fowler, Vivian Campbell
Treasurer – Kerry Davis
Trustees – Harold Ashford, Rusty George, Joe Cook
Associations Delegates -JD & Clara Lee Vantrease, Tex & Vivian Campbell
Executive Board Members – Jimmy Arms, Tex Campbell
Moderator – Kerry Davis, Mike Evans
Brotherhood Director
VBS Director – Tracy Revelle, Lacy Hall
Calling List Coordinator – Bryna Ashford
Church Flowers – Faye Underhill
Security -Rusty George, Bradley Hall, Joey Agee, Mike Williams
Lock up/Lights– Paul Engle, Bradley Hall, Phillip Self
Cleaning– William & Martha Davis
Yard/Landscape Jimmy & Vickie Woods

Other Committees…

Christmas Baskets/Decorating – Teresa Bogle, Maegan Harris, Jessica Hale, Hannah Evans, Holly Evans
Baptism Committee -Martha Davis, Tex Campbell
Bible Study Committee -Diane Arms
Budget Finance Committee -Kerry Davis (chair), Bryna Ashford, Sandra Fowler, Vickie Woods, Vivian Campbell
Christmas Program Committee -Karen Ashford, Stacey George
Building Committee -Phillip Self (Chair), Joey Agee, Jessica Hale, Vicky Williams, Amy Evans, Joe Cook, Bradley Hall, Bryna Ashford
Fellowship Committee -Casey & Joey Agee (chair), Brandi Womack, Eunice Ramsey, Jack & Faye Underhill, Roenia Turner, Jerry Cripps
Children’s Committee -Amy Evans, Casey Agee, Kevin & Liz Cripps, Stacy George, Lacy Hall
Maintenance Committee – Tommy Gibbs, Rusty George
Nominating Committee -Joey Agee, Vickie Woods, Tex Campbell, Tisha Self
Outreach Committee – Tex & Vivian Campbell (chair), David & Tracey Revelle, Phillip & Tisha Self, Diane & Jimmy Arms
Revival/Homecoming Committee -Bro. Jimmy Arms, David & Roenia Turner, Vickie Woods
Youth Committee -Joey & Casey Agee, Kerry Davis, Mike & Amy Evans, Ethan & Jessica Hale, Phillip & Tisha Self

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!